LSC News

Please help us support our direct care workers!

By June 8, 2021No Comments
Masked direct care worker looks tenderly at a nursing home resident while holding a sign that celebrates her recovery from COVID

LSC friends, teammmates, and supporters,

Can you help us ensure that our direct care workers in North Carolina make a living wage? We need your help to support these invisible heroes. LSC relies on direct care workers to fulfill its mission, and these workers deserve our help now more than ever.

NC House Bill 914 would increase the hourly wages of direct support staff in North Carolina across a variety of Medicaid services, including nursing homes and other behavioral health community and residential facilities. Increased rates mean providers can pay competitive wages and retain experienced workers. It also means that people who need support can get the help they need.

Currently, employers providing care services funded by Medicaid simply can’t compete with other service industries for wages. Not only must employers like LSC compete with private sector companies that are paying $15 an hour or more, they are also competing with NC government agencies that received a legislated wage floor of $15 an hour for state employees providing support services.

Low wages for Medicaid-funded staff are the result of low rates of reimbursement for Medicaid services that have experienced little to no increase over the past decade. IT IS TIME TO FIX THIS!

Reach out to the legislators that represent you and ask them to support HB914. You can also help by contacting the key legislators who make the budget decisions listed below. If you live outside of NC, please feel free to call one or more of the leaders below.

Thank you for your support and prayers. We hope to mount a similar effort in South Carolina soon, but this is a major step for North Carolina right now.

 

Senator Jim Perry representing Lenoir and Wayne County

Office Phone:   (919) 733-5621     Email: Jim.Perry@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Joyce Krawiec representing Forsyth and Davie

Office Phone: (919) 733-7850   Email:  Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Jim Burgin representing Harnett, Johnston and Lee

Office Phone:  (919) 733-5748    Email:  Jim.Burgin@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Deanna Ballard representing Alleghany, Ashe, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes

Office Phone:  (919) 733-5742   Email:  Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Steve Jarvis representing Davidson and Montgomery

Office Phone: (919) 733-5743   Email:  Steve.Jarvis@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Kathy Harrington representing Gaston

Office Phone: (919) 733-5734  Email:  Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Ralph Hise representing Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Yancey

Office Phone:  (919) 733-3460   Email:  Ralph.Hise@ncleg.gov

 

Senator Brent Jackson representing Sampson, Duplin, Johnston

Office Phone:   (919) 733-5705   Email:   Brent.Jackson@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Kim Baker representing Cabarrus

Office Phone: 919-733-5861           Email:  Kristin.Baker@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Larry Potts representing Davidson

Office Phone: 919-715-0873           Email: Larry.Potts@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Wayne Sasser representing Stanly, Cabarrus, Rowan

Office Phone: 704-982-8003           Email:  Wayne.Sasser@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Donna White representing Johnson

Office Phone: 919-889-1239           Email: Donna.White@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Donny Lambeth representing Forsyth

Office Phone: 919-733-5747           Email:  Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Jason Saine representing Lincoln

Office Phone: 919-733-5782           Email:  Jason.Saine@ncleg.gov

 

Representative Dean Arc representing Union

Office Phone: 704-282-0418           Email: Dean.Arp@ncleg.gov

Katie Scarvey

Author Katie Scarvey

More posts by Katie Scarvey