Leadership Team/ Board of Trustees

The LSC Boards

Though Lutheran Services for the Aging (LSA) and Lutheran Family Services in the Carolinas (LFS) began operating under the name Lutheran Services Carolinas (LSC) in 2012, the organizations continue to be governed by separate Boards of Trustees. Each board is made up of the same individuals. This unique structure allows the needs of each to be seen in context of the overall organization. The boards are comprised of community volunteers who are committed to the LSC mission and offer guidance and direction.

LSC Leadership Team

Ted W. Goins Jr.
President & Chief Executive Officer

Ted W. Goins, Jr. began his career in long-term care as a certified nursing assistant, a certification he still maintains. A graduate of Lenoir-Rhyne University, Goins is a licensed nursing home administrator and served at Trinity Village in that capacity for 10 years prior to being named president and CEO in 2000. Goins has served as Board Chair for Lutheran Services in America, has served on the NC Legislative Study Commission on Aging, on the NC State Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators, on on the Board of LeadingAge. He is currently on the Board of Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service, the Editorial Board of the North Carolina Journal of Medicine, and the Board of the NC Health Care Facilities Association.

Myra N. Griffie
Chief Operating Officer

Myra N. Griffie provides management and oversight for the LSC child and family services. Griffie began her career with LSC nine years ago as clinical coordinator for Charlotte foster care and group homes before becoming vice president for programs and later senior vice president for quality and risk management. Griffie holds a BA in Psychology from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and an MS in Social Work from the University of South Carolina.

Rich Duncan
Chief Development Officer

Rich Duncan is the newest member of LSC’s leadership team, joining in 2019. Before joining LSC, Rich served as senior director of mission funding for the ELCA. Before that, he was executive director of development for Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory. Rich has a BS degree from Lenoir-Rhyne and an MBA from Jacksonville University. He has his Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE) credential.

Kirby Nickerson
Chief Financial Officer

Kirby Nickerson began his work with LSC in June 2012. Nickerson holds BA degrees in both Economics and Business Administration from Gordon College, Wenham, Massachusetts and received his MBA from Florida State University. A licensed nursing home administrator, Nickerson has 17 years of experience in not-for-profit senior care with responsibilities that have included oversight of financial operations, as well as marketing and information systems.

Kesha Smith
Chief Operating Officer

Kesha Smith provides management and oversight for LSC senior service operations. Smith holds a BS in Accounting from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. She is a licensed nursing home administrator and a licensed real estate broker. Smith joined LSC in 2003 and served as special projects coordinator, operations coordinator, and chief administrative officer before being named COO in 2013. In addition to other duties, Smith is charged with LSC construction management.

Boards Of Trustees


Ms. Miji Bell

Baltimore, MD

Mr. Jerry Bramley

Wilmington, NC

Rev. Pam Cook

Myrtle Beach, SC

Rev. Shanitria Cuthbertson

Charlotte, NC

Rev. Mary M. Finklea

Effingham, SC

Dr. Sylvia A. Flack

Winston-Salem, NC

Mr. Ted W. Goins, Jr. - President

Winston-Salem, NC

Dr. Shannon Mathews

Winston-Salem, NC

Mr. Cary Grant

Durham, NC

Rick Herman

Weaverville, NC

Mr. Eric Hoyle, Chair

Winston-Salem, NC

Mr. Greg Hudgins

Durham, NC

Mr. J. White Iddings

Hickory, NC

Ms. Joycelyn V. Johnson

Winston-Salem, NC

Mrs. Frances Lamb

Wilmington, NC

Mrs. Betty P. Lohr

Hickory, NC

Mrs. Jeanie Moore

Salisbury, NC

Rev. Will Rose

Chapel Hill, NC

Ms. Eunika Simons

Columbia, SC

Mr. Mark Tonnesen

Fort Myers, FL

Ms. Anna Williams

Columbia, SC